Night-shift Worker Problem

Attention: Current Head-Nurse (Legal Name removed)

For awhile, things were going OK with JR on night-shift, until 5am this morning. Ever since you guys moved the guy in front of me who lives in his curtained-off world, the patient next to him left the room for half the night, most nights, to try and get some sleep in the washroom. The staff have turned the recreation-rooms on all floors into their hotel rooms, for years.–Even though the recreation-rooms are supposed to be open 24/7 for patients to have a place, any time of day or night. So, finally, he was able to move downstairs with a roommate he knows.

Although I need to start my day by 5am, if I am going to try and get as much done as possible, there are times I have to sleep-in, because I am up all night. As a result, I try to adjust a schedule of sleeping part of the day.

Last night I was awake half the night, but wanted to get up for sure by 5am. When I rang the bell, the nurse answered it, and explained that the PA was just down the hall. After another five-to-ten minutes I rang the bell again. When JR came in, he started like he always does when he wants to get a verbal fight going: he begins with, “why did you ring the bell?”. As always, I answer him with, “it’s time to get up”.

Next, he says “the nurse already told you I was coming; so, why are you ringing the bell?”.–By now, it’s obvious he has a chip-on-his-shoulder. Then he starts mouthing-me-off that, “you don’t need to ring the bell with me.–So, why are you ringing the bell?”. I reminded him that it was 5-10 minutes later. Then, he starts demanding an answer again, as to why I’m ringing the bell. At this point, I’m supposed to be submissive to your PA, or I’m a racist.

He continues his shit, and by this time anybody who thinks I’m supposed to “not supposed to use bad language” can kiss-my-ass! By this time he always works himself into a poor, hard-working, caring PA who is being abused by da-BadBoy. He does everything he can, like Leo did, to get me to take a swing at him. Leo never got his way, because he took the only swing. I never retaliated, but I emptied my mouth on Leo as he made his way out of the room.

When I told you what I told Marie-Annie, as soon as she got to work that morning, you laughed-it-off. Well, I’m sticking to my warning, exactly what will happen if anybody does test me out. Do you think I owe anybody free swings?

When I told him that I’m going to report him, he said that he’s going to report on me. Then he came back, in my face again to say, “I’m just standing up for myself”, before leaving the room fully convinced that he is a poor victim of abuse.

I’ll await your response to this via email.

As always, as long as he acts civilized, and only does his work, I’ll treat him like any other PA.–However, he is not going to get away anymore with demanding answers to ringing the bell.

Just to show what a trouble-maker he is, I rang the bell to talk to Bailey (nurse), and asked her help to get my clothes and boots on. JR came back into the room, upset that she was going to help me get my boots on.

About Ironsides

I was born in 1951 with Arthrogryposis, developed scoliosis at ten years old, but travelled alot and worked in several countries with a religious cult. All my adult life I have had to live with others, and after three respiratory-failures I had to move into a long-term care institution.
This entry was posted in Bioethics, Disability-Rights, Living with dignity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

