Terminally ill woman joins constitutional challenge on physician-assisted suicide

http://www.vancouversun.com/health/Terminally+woman+joins+constitutional+challenge+physician+assisted+suicide/5017967/story.html

Vancouver has some good memories for me, but with the drive to legalize euthanasia/assisted-suicide, it definitely is better that I not return there. I was born at Neepawa, Manitoba with Arthrogryposis, and developed scoliosis from ten years old. After finishing high-school I travelled alot and worked in various countries for twenty years, although I always needed to live with others. I have always needed others’ help to do basic survival skills, and had to go on my own, after my disability progressed to chronic cardio-pulmonary problems I have to live with the rest of my life.

Since 2000, I have had to live in a long-term care institution for COPD (chronic obstuction pulmonary-disease) patients. After several changes of rooms and floors, I have witnessed quite a few people who have died in eleven years.–However, never did anyone cry and demand that their deaths be legalized. Where I am living, down the hall a guy has Lou Gherics. He has all the difficulties and more pain than Gloria Taylor complains about, and all he wants is a stop to this fantacy advertising the Duty-to-Die movement pound away at.

The Duty-to-Die Societies under an umbrella of names and titles they give themselves, the leaders are a cunning, divisive class of criminals who present themselves as so caring and running over with love. From the botched suicides where vicitms never died, but suffered a gruesome slow death days later, they have no shame.–And are careful to keep such news from their new suckers.

Since there has been continuous pressure by the leaders of the Duty-to-Die movement to legalize euthanasia/assisted-suicide, I do notice an unwelcome shift in how many care-givers in long-term care institutions perceive long-term patients.

What I want to ask is this:

Question: If 50% of legalized “assisted-suicides” were non-consentual, would she still demand that it be legalized? If another 30% were not even reported, would she still insist that it be legalized?

 

About Ironsides

I was born in 1951 with Arthrogryposis, developed scoliosis at ten years old, but travelled alot and worked in several countries with a religious cult. All my adult life I have had to live with others, and after three respiratory-failures I had to move into a long-term care institution.
This entry was posted in euthanasia, assisted-suicided, medical, health-care. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

