Fwd: Vivre dans la Dignité- Living with Dignity

———- Forwarded message ———-
From: Ironsides <ironsides@videotron.ca>
Date: 2010/6/24
Subject: Re: Vivre dans la Dignité- Living with Dignity
To: Linda Couture <info@vivredignite.com>
Cc: Alex Schadenberg <euthanasiaprevention@on.aibn.com>

The euthanasia/assisted-suicide in health-care and long-term care needs to be separated. The "legalization" aspect definitely needs to be blocked. The Culture of Death only use the laws to escape lawsuits, for all the involuntary murders they commit. This is very well documented in Belgium, Holland and Oregon.
 
To even encourage people to accept or prefer "assisted-suicide" is really murder.–Because it is contradictory to the requirements of laws, to present "all other options". When the options are presented in such a manner, that, ‘OK, here are the options!–But we hope you will "do the right thing",’ that is pure coerscion. Ethically and morally, I think coerscion should not be "legally defined" as "assisted-suicide"; in my opinion, it should be "legally defined" as euthanasia.
 
Pain-management is definitely a medical issue, but treating "pain", and treating "de-population" is a military issue. This subject is never touched upon by the Culture of Death, not the Health-care industry.–However, it is hit on by me. Any doctors and nurses of Death who take it on themselves to kill people off, are taking on a military role.
 
Thankyou, Linda, for being active against smokers. The only reason I stay here, rather than other long-term care institutions, is because most Disabled People and their care-givers smoke. Here, they are doing their best to follow up my complaints about the violations of the newest law.–But the refuse to hand out tickets in accordance to the law.
 
Linda, are you in contact with Maria Barile (Dawson College)?

2010/6/23 Linda Couture <info@vivredignite.com>

I am sorry I couldn’t answer you before. You are right about health professional needing better formation. I guess when euthanasia is part of a health system people don’t have to worry about controlling pain and suffering. They kill the pain and the suffering with the patient. Then they don’t have to worry about dealing with people emotion. Then death Is quick and the system can claim efficiency because the beds would clear faster. That’s the attitude that needs to change. Attitude towards, being different. We live in a so call want to be perfect society, our society doesn’t seem to appreciate what is perceived as imperfection. I really beleive we can slow down this process. I used to fight against tobacco. It feels the same. This littles piece of white paper that people smoke, the tobacco industry was selling death in style. The pro-euthanasia sells us death with dignity. I feel i am up a similar battle. We will se.
The game is not over yet. I received a lot of support since the launch. I find the wind is going to turns in our direction.

Linda Couture
Directrice 
Vivre dans la Dignité / Living with Dignity                                             
Téléphone: (514) 639-6814
CP 34086
Lachine  (Québec)

H8S 1X0

Le 2010-06-22 à 16:07, Ironsides a écrit :

Thankyou, Linda, for sending this yesterday. I also read Alex Scadenberg’s announcement, and I do hope that the mental attitude will change in every hospital, where a growing number of nurses and PA’s seem to have shifted their opinions in legalizing euthanasia/assisted-suicide.
 
Even the Assistant Head-Nurse of this long-term unit (where I am living) told me one day, after I tried to conduct a survey in this hospital at the Montreal Chest Institute, told me of visiting a frend whose mother was dying of cancer. Because of what her friend scared her to believe, I told her that doctors across Canada and Quebec need better training, in how to manage a mix of medications so that their patients are not suffering.
 
I explained to her that before all these Duty-to-Die organizations started, doctors never needed to worry about being prosecuted for treating patients. They treated their patients properly, and some patients died.–It’s what happens to everyone, at the end of life! But, doctors never intended to finish their patients off.
 
I reminded her of the guy they moved next to me in 2007. He was from Pakistan, and I don’t think there has ever been a person in more critical pain. They sent him from the Montreal Neurological Institutie, and several times when he was here, they sent him for tests.
 
The first thing I experienced was this man would yell so loud, when he woke up, that it hurt my ears! During this time, I was trying to recover, myself, from a near fatal lung-failure from a drug which killed several patients during research. Also, I developed the second stone I’ve had in my bladder in ten years–from the food!
 
When I observed how the nurses and PA’s really didn’t care to make much priority to help minimize his yelling and critical pain, I was aware that the bigger problem was their attitudes.
 
Over the next two days, I awoke to the ear-splitting yells every time his morphine was wearing off. When his meds would take effect, he could relax, and be sociable with the care-givers and with me.
 
The whole year-and-a-half he was next to me, he was always repectful and thankful the number of times I would get help for him.–Because alot of times in the beginning, some PA’s would ignore him.
 
There were times they probably tried to reduce his meds to help him be able to be involved in activities, but his doctors never seemed to know what his real problem was.
 
Aside from his problem, and my problem with a respiratory-failure I was trying to recover from, I had quite a few meetings with the Head-Nurse at that time (they change nurses), and things improved with new care-givers who were hired.
 
As time progressed, his pain began to progress again. Several times, I tried to persuade him to understand that the chronic need for any pain-killer drugs, causes more pain from the addiction itself. However, by October 2008, they were having to increase his pain-management.–And he was again splitting my ear-drums, any time of day or night that he woke up.
They moved him to a room where nobody else was.–and kept the door closed! They would go in at the scheduled times for his care and meds, and he would watch television until he fell asleep.
 
There was once or twice I visited him, but most of the time I was in bed myself, fighting to breathe, and sometimes needing morphine myself for the pain in my bladder. Then, after being free from the stone in my bladder, I went to see him one day.
 
Two days later, I heard a code-blue!–And the room number. Although I wondered if maybe it was conveniently planned, I was cured of that immediately. The Assistant Head-Nurse that morning ran to the room, down the stairs.–And I realized it was not planned.
 
So, I reminded her of that patient. She told me that his situation was actually improving, and they knew he would be happier to be back in the room I’m in. It is unfortunate that he died, but he needed the pain-management.
 
I am not a doctor!–But I am a long-term patient, and an experienced one after the past ten years here!–So, my mere opinion and conclusion is that:
  • all doctors in hospitals and clinics in Canada need the same level of training in pain-management
  • doctors or nurses need CBT (cognitive behavior therapy) relating to their prejudices and contempt for certain patients
  • colleges need to be purged of execution teachers
 
 
2010/6/21 Linda Couture <info@vivredignite.com>

Tomorrow is the official launch of Vivre dans la Dignité, 
Demain est le lancement officiel de Vivre dans la Dignité 
Voir document ci-joint
See attached document, 

Please visit: www.vivredignite.com 

Linda Couture
Directrice 
Vivre dans la Dignité / Living with Dignity                                             
Téléphone: (514) 639-6814
CP 34086
Lachine  (Québec)

H8S 1X0


Ironsides
email: ironsides@videotron.ca
mobile: 514-585-6265
http://ironsidesworldheadquarters.blogspot.com/
http://ironsides1951.spaces.live.com/
http://www.restoretherepublic.net/Ironsides/blog/
http://profiles.yahoo.com/blog/ZDOQTI7EFAH75M5OU5F3JUWCJE


Ironsides
email: ironsides@videotron.ca
mobile: 514-585-6265
http://ironsidesworldheadquarters.blogspot.com/
http://ironsides1951.spaces.live.com/
http://www.restoretherepublic.net/Ironsides/blog/
http://profiles.yahoo.com/blog/ZDOQTI7EFAH75M5OU5F3JUWCJE

About Ironsides

I was born in 1951 with Arthrogryposis, developed scoliosis at ten years old, but travelled alot and worked in several countries with a religious cult. All my adult life I have had to live with others, and after three respiratory-failures I had to move into a long-term care institution.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

