Re: bell

Sorry I couldn’t get the email sooner. There was a time when email was instantly delivered, and when alot of us used to voice-conference on Vocaltec IPhone, we could hear people’s ICQ’s going off that fast. Now, there are emails which can get choked up in Internet traffic for several hours.
 
Archie, considering your problem with feeding-tube cramps, I am aware of the problem from last May over at the Vic., and downstairs. Normally, a person who is rescued from a respiratory failure is fueled by antibiotics, IV fluids (balanced with water and various minerals), a feeding-tube and intubation.
 
People who end up on long-term care ventilation require a feeding-tube and fluids, but they don’t supply long-term ventilator patients with the necessary balanced glucose-mineral fluids via feeding-tube. They just give water. The government should require drug companies who deal with IV fluids, to produce the same fluids with the necessary attachments to run with the feeding-tubes, and since it is for chronic-care, the price should be adjusted as such.
 
Last year was the only time I wound up on a feeding-tube so long, because I could not eat with a trache.–So, I got a firsthand taste of the stomach cramps related to the imbalance of minerals in my fluids. This is an issue I’m going to send Maria for the MUHC Patients Committee, and also to the Bioethics listserve I’m on. I think somebody will be able to give it attention and consideration.
 
The times I was on a feeding-tube and IV fluids I never had stomach cramps, and never got dehydrated. However, when they switched me to just water with the food, I had alot of problems and lost thirteen pounds. If you agree, maybe you can write the patients’ committee, also.

 

On Fri, Apr 10, 2009 at 6:25 PM, Archie <ajarolland@hotmail.com> wrote:

Hi Robert,
Thanks a lot for coming, very much appreciated, believe me.
My feeding machine started beeping, so somebody wandered in,
otherwise I would still be in considerable pain.
Thanks again for your help,
Archie
About Ironsides

I was born in 1951 with Arthrogryposis, developed scoliosis at ten years old, but travelled alot and worked in several countries with a religious cult. All my adult life I have had to live with others, and after three respiratory-failures I had to move into a long-term care institution.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

