Plastic Toxicity

Food Services Management Ignorance

 

http://health-matrix.net/blog/health-education/76-plastic-toxicity
"Use only glass containers and if you choose to microwave your food, don’t do it in a plastic container or plastic wraps."

There used to be a time when I had an inferiority-complex over my lack of official education. I landed in a medical system, where some exceptional medical professionals saved my life.  Due to circumstances, I’ve lived in a long-term care center for going on nine years now.

My main occupation is Disability Rights, but the last thing I ever wanted to have to get involved in, is medical stuff. As a birth-defective person, I had enough to deal with growing up having surgery. By the time I was a teenager, I just wanted to get on with my life. I surely did not have any interest in hospital issues.

If only it could be a matter of living your life, and leaving medical things up to doctors, nurses and dieticians! Well, when I could not survive alone anymore in an apartment, and rely on home-care workers to help out, I learned real quick that alot of hospital workers in different departments pretend to not know much.

For over eight years, all I’ve expected of this place or any place is for good cleanliness standards. To get to the point with this blog, after several months of needing to educate the kitchen department about not cooking puree or any microwave foods with soft plastic covers on, they have argued me up one side of the wall down the other.

One kitchen manager from Sodexho argued that, “it’s safe to cook with the plastic cover on, or the company would have told us it’s not safe”. After I gave him a crash course about companies being so scared to lose business, they won’t tell you anything that’s not safe, he finally got the point. He left instructions for workers to remove the plastic covers before cooking puree food packages (mine anyway).

A new manager took over, and until today, most kitchen staff have removed the plastic before cooking it.—But today, a supervisor argued with me that he had to follow the instructions of the label, or he would be in trouble. Well, I told him in no uncertain terms that he had better not obey those orders with my food, or he will be in trouble with me.

I find that in hospitals, aside from the medical side, only a few nurses and food-services workers take anything seriously in regards to cleanliness standards and cancer prevention. Big deal!—Get cancer, and there are lots of treatment options. They just laugh off anything I’ve ever complained about. Eventually, somebody takes it serious. It’s really pathetic to have so many people who work in the health-care system, and they’re oblivious to serious issues.

 

Plastic Toxicity

About Ironsides

I was born in 1951 with Arthrogryposis, developed scoliosis at ten years old, but travelled alot and worked in several countries with a religious cult. All my adult life I have had to live with others, and after three respiratory-failures I had to move into a long-term care institution.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

